Skip To Main ContentUniversity of Oregon
University of Oregon Libraries
University of Oregon Libraries

Database Search Guides

The UO Libraries subscribe to hundreds of databases and indexes from a number of different companies, or vendors. Each company has developed its own search interface, with its own look, feel, and features, although many databases share a set of common features: simple and advanced search, keyword searching, use of Boolean operators, and the ability to save, print, or email search results.

The following guides cover interfaces from our most common vendors. For brief searching tips for all of our vendors, see Tips for Database Searching.

Searching ABC-Clio Databases [pdf]
The UO Libraries subscribe to the following ABC-CLIO databases: America: History & Life and Historical Abstracts. This guide is intended to be a general introduction to searching the ABC-CLIO databases, including America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts; use the help screens for each database to get information on database-specific features. Descriptions of and access to ABC-CLIO databases can be found on the Libraries\' web site.
Searching CSA Databases [pdf]
This guide is an introduction to using databases provided by Cambridge Scientific Abstract.
Searching Ebsco Databases [pdf]
The UO Libraries subscribe to several EBSCO databases, among them Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, Health Source Plus, Magazines Fulltext, and Newspaper Source. This guide is intended to be a general introduction to searching the EBSCO databases. Use the help screens to get information on database-specific features. Descriptions of and access to EBSCO databases can be found on the Libraries\' web site.
Searching Eureka Databases [pdf]
The UO Libraries subscribe to several Eureka databases, including RLIN Union Catalog, English Short Title Catalogue, Anthropological Literature, Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, Bibliography of the History of Art, AAI: The Index to Nineteenth Century American Art Periodicals, and Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliography. This guide is intended to be a general introduction to searching the Eureka databases; use the help screens for each database to get information on database-specific features. Descriptions of and access to Eureka databases can be found on the Libraries\' web site.
Searching FirstSearch Databases [pdf]
The UO Libraries subscribe to over 30 FirstSearch databases, too numerous to list here. This guide is intended to be a general introduction to searching the FirstSearch databases; use the help screens for each database to get information on database-specific features. Most FirstSearch databases allow you to fill in an interlibrary loan request directly from the database for articles not available online as full text or at the UO Libraries. Descriptions of and access to FirstSearch databases can be found on the Libraries\' web site.
Searching Ovid Databases [pdf]
The UO Libraries subscribe to three databases using the Ovid interface: BIOSIS Previews, PsycINFO, and Sports Discus. This guide is intended to be a general introduction to searching the Ovid databases; use the help screens for each database to get information on database-specific features. Descriptions of and access to Ovid databases can be found on the Libraries\' web site.
Searching Webspirs Databases [pdf]
The UO Libraries subscribe to a few WebSPIRS (formerly, SilverPlatter) databases, including Philosopher's Index.. This guide is intended to be a general introduction to searching the WebSPIRS databases; use the help screens for each database to get information on database-specific features. Descriptions of and access to WebSPIRS databases can be found on the Libraries\' web site.
Maintained by: Barbara Jenkins, jenkins@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 12/06/2007