Skip To Main ContentUniversity of Oregon
University of Oregon Libraries
University of Oregon Libraries

Current Events Research Guide

The following is a selected list of resources for starting research in on topics currently in the news. For additional assistance, consult a reference librarian.

Starting Your Research

These sources can help you identify a topic for your research. Some provide an overview of a specific issue and suggest other materials which might be useful for your research. Others help you to notice a topic that might be of interest to you.

  • Facts on File; D410.F3 Knight Reference
    Contains a digest of important news stories, providing concise profiles of state, national, and international events. Includes a detailed name and subject index.
  • Keesing's Record of World Events; D410.K4 Knight Reference
    Diary of important events in all countries, including texts of speeches and documents.
  • Editorials on File; D389.E3 Knight Reference
    Contains reprints on important national and international news topics selected from a variety of U.S. newspapers.
  • CQ Researcher
    Short reports on topics of widespread interest. Reports define the issues and include a chronology and bibliography.
  • Encyclopedia Britannica

Finding Articles

To look for articles in journals, newspapers, or magazines, you will need to start with an index. An index will allow you to look by subject or a few keywords which describe your topic or by author.

  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier provides full text for over 3,600 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 4,500 journals. Over 2,700 of the full text journals are peer reviewed, while more than 1,600 of the indexed journals are peer reviewed. Full text backfiles go as far back as 1965. This is a good database to use if your topic is multidisiplinary.
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic
    Provides an extensive array of full-text news, business and legal resources. (Access is limited to current UO students, faculty, and staff.)
  • Masterfile Premier
    MasterFILE Premier provides full text for over 1,830 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals.
  • Oregon Newspapers on the Web
    Provides links to the fulltext of the Oregonian, plus indexing for the Register Guard, the Oregon Daily Emerald, and the Salem Statesman Journal.

Return to top

Finding Books

  • UO Library Catalog
    Identify books by topic, title or author; identify journals and magazines owned by the UO Library. To find journal articles on your topic, use the databases listed in the section above. Once you have a citation, you can check the library catalog by doing a title search on the name of the journal to see if we have it here.
  • Summit: the Orbis Cascade Alliance Union Catalog
    The Orbis Cascade Alliance is a consortium of 26 academic libraries in the Pacific Northwest. You can borrow books not owned by the UO Library by selecting the Request Item option. Borrowing through Summit is only for books. If you want to request a journal articles, you'll need to fill out an interlibrary loan form.

Return to top

Facts and Figures

  • Looking for Statistical Information
    The Library's guide to statistical resources is an excellent starting point for locating statistical data.
  • World Almanac
    Allows one to search the contents of the World Almanac and Fact book.
  • CIA World Factbook
    Detailed summary information on countries publish by the CIA. Topics covered on each country include people, government, economy, transportation, geography, defense, and communications.

Return to top

People and Organizations

  • Biography & Genealogy Master Index
  • Who's Who in America; E 663.W56 Knight Reference
  • Who's Who of American Women; E176.W647 Knight Reference
  • International Who's Who; CT120.I5 Knight Reference
  • Encyclopedia of Associations; AS 22 .E5 Knight Reference
  • Encyclopedia of Associations. International Organizations ; AS 22 .E54 Knight Reference

Return to top

Web Resources

  • Refdesk.com
    Provides links to numerous sources of news and current events information.
  • NewsLink
    Comprensive listing of news media sources on the web.
  • News Links
    A very extensive (if not quite comprehensive) listing of online news sources. The listing is dynamically updated based on selections made by subscribers to crayon.net, and therefore more idiosyncratic than some directories, but useful for locating more specialized sites.
  • News From the Associated Press
    Access to the AP news wire.
Maintained by: Ted D. Smith, tedsmith@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 09/01/2006