The following is a selected list of resources for starting research
in Communication Disorders. For further assistance, contact Katy Lenn, Communication Disorders
Reference Librarian, at klenn@uoregon.edu
Starting Your Research
These sources can help you identify a topic for your research. Some
provide an overview of a specific issue and suggest other materials
which might be useful for your research. Others help you to notice a
topic that might be of interest to you.
- Illustrated dictionary of audiology; RF 290 .M464 1999 Knight
Reference
- Dictionary of communication disorders; RC 423 M597 1997 Knight
Reference
- Terminology of communication disorders: Speech-language-hearing;
RC 423 N52 Knight Reference
- Dictionary of hearing; QP 461 M375 1999
- Encyclopedia of deafness and hearing disorders; RF 290 T93 Knight
Reference
- Gallaudet encyclopedia of deaf people and deafness; HV 2365 G35
1987 Knight Reference
- Encyclopedia of special education: A reference for the education
of the handicapped and other exceptional children and adults; LC 4007
E53 2000 Knight Reference
- Encyclopedia of acoustics; QC 221.5 E53 1997 Science
Reference
- Online American Sign
Language Dictionary
- American Sign Language handshape dictionary; HV 2475 T46 1998
Knight Reference
- American Sign Language: A comprehensive dictionary; HV2475.S77
1981 Knight Reference
- Scientific & Medical ART (SMART) Imagebase is a collection of
11,000+ high quality illustrations and animations depicting anatomy,
physiology, surgery, diseases, conditions, trauma, embryology,
histology, and other health science topics.
- Sage online Reference books. Includes: Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media; Encyclopedia of Distributed Learning; Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration; Encyclopedia of Human Development; Encyclopedia of Religious and Spiritual Development; Encyclopedia of School Psychology; Encyclopedia of Leadership; Encyclopedia of Applied Developmental Science; Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America; Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology; Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology; Encyclopedia of Behavior Modification and Cognitive Behavior
Therapy; Encyclopedia of Career Development; Encyclopedia of Community
Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior; Encyclopedia of Human Development; Encyclopedia of Evaluation; Encyclopedia of Measurement and
Statistics; Encyclopedia of Social
Science Research Methods
- Annual review of Psychology, Medicine, Neuroscience, etc.
- MIT handbooks and encyclopedias. Includes:The Handbook
of Developmental Cognitive Neuroscience;The MIT
Encylopedia of the Cognitive Science;The
Cognitive Neurosciences II;The Handbook
of Brain Theory and Neural Networks, 2ed.;The Handbook
of Multisensory Processe;The Visual
Neurosciences;The MIT Encyclopedia
of Communication Disorders; Handbook of
Functional Neuroimaging of Cognition, 2nd Edition; Status
Epilepticus, Mechanisms and Management; Principles
and Practice of Clinical Electrophysiology of Vision, 2nd Edition
- Handbook of language and speech disorders RC 423 .H3258 2010 Knight Reference
-
Handbook of child language disorders RJ 496.L35 H334 2009 Knight Reference
Finding Articles
To look for articles in journals, newspapers, or magazines, you will
need to start with an index. An index will allow you to look by subject
or a few keywords which describe your topic or by author. Once you have located an article you want, use the FindText
button that will appear to verify if we have access to the article or use the
"Request this item from another library" option to obtain a copy
through Interlibrary Loan.
- Linguistics and
Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
LLBA provides complete coverage of language and linguistics from
about 600 journals.
- Medline OR PubMed
Medline covers all areas of biomedicine, including cell and molecular biology, genetics,etc., as well as clinical medicine. It corresponds to the printed indexes Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature and the International Nursing Index, and indexes 3,700+ journals. Date coverage: 1965 to present PubMed contains Medline and some additional literature.
- Health Source:
Consumer Edition
Health Source Plus provides full text from nearly 270 periodicals
covering nutrition, exercise, medical self-care, drugs and alcohol,
and much more. In addition to the full text, this database offers
indexing and abstracts for over 430 periodicals. This database also
provides full text for over 1,090 pamphlets and 23 books. Full text
backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and
abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984.
- Health Source:
Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 540
scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 570 journals.
- Academic
Search Premier
A good starting point for research about linguistics. Academic
Search Elite indexes a few linguistics journals and does provide some
full-text access to articles.
- ERIC
(Education)
Good for language learning and teaching and CDS/school issues. ERIC consists of citations
to more than 850,000 records about all areas of education. ERIC is
composed of citations to articles published in education journals and
to ERIC documents which include curriculi, reports, standards, and
other unpublished materials in education. ERIC indexes materials from
1966 to the present and is updated monthly.
- Social Services Abstracts, provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social
work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare,
social policy, and community development.
- PsycINFO provides indexing and abstracting for 1,900 journals in psychology and related disciplines.
Return to top
Finding Books
- UO Library Catalog
Identify books, dvd's and other materials by topic, title or author; identify journals and magazines owned by the UO Library.
- WorldCat
UO WorldCat offers a streamlined interface for search results that
combine, into a single merged list, the collections of the UO Libraries,
Summit libraries, and hundreds of other libraries worldwide. When
searching in UO WorldCat, entries for items owned by the UO Libraries
appear at the top of the list and include information about location and
availability.
Return to top
People and Organizations
Return to top
Web Resources
Maintained by: Katy Lenn, klenn@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 09/22/2011