Look for books, magazines, videos, music, and more.
Search for:

Note: To create a durable link to a database or other electronic resource (rather than to an individual article), please refer to the Database URLs page.
Usually when you look at a full-text article in a subscription database or on a publisher's website, the URL associated with the article is dynamic, meaning that if you save it and try to use it to access that article later, it will no longer work. Fortunately, many subscription databases and websites now have permanent web addresses known as persistent, stable or durable links that allow easy incorporation into a web page, Blackboard site, or email. Using durable links means that you do not need to use E-reserves, if you'd rather link directly to the article through your Blackboard site.
The list below provides instructions on how to find or create durable links for different databases and websites. Click on the vendor's name for the instructions. Also included is a list of databases that do not provide durable links at this point. For more information, contact John Russell at 346-2689.
**Every durable link must have proxy information in it so that it can be accessed from off-campus. If you are using FindText to access a publisher website or database, it will not automatically include proxy information. You will have to put proxy information in the URL. A URL will look like this if it contains proxy information: http://0-[website].janus.uoregon.edu/. If this information is not in the URL, it will not be possible to access an article from off-campus. The proxy information allows UO students, faculty and staff to verify their affiliation with the University of Oregon in order to access licensed resources.
|
Instructions for durable links
| |
|---|---|
| Publisher's website |
Some publishers have directions on creating shorter links (look for "Linking to article" pages on a website) but you must make sure that the proxy information is included. If the publisher hasn't done this, you can manually insert proxy information in order to create a durable link to an article linked on a publisher's website (e.g. publishers include Kluwer, Springer, Wiley, Highwire, etc.; they are different from database vendors listed above and below). To do this, open the article or the abstract that links to the article and locate the URL at the top of the screen. For example, an Oxford University Press online article abstract looks like this: http://hwj.oupjournals.org/cgi/content/abstract/57/1/247. To make this accessible from off-campus, put a "0-" immediately following the first two slashes (//) and insert ".janus.uoregon.edu" imediately before the next slash (/). You will end up with this: http://0-hwj.oupjournals.org.janus.uoregon.edu You can do the same thing with any article that you've retrieved from a subscription website. Always test it to make sure it works! Examples of URL's modified for off-campus access:
(Some article URLs are quite lengthy, especially after you add proxy information. To avoid including long URLs on Blackboard, etc., you may choose to use TinyURL.com (http://tinyurl.com), a website that creates smaller URLs that will redirect to your link. It is a free service claiming that links never expire. Keep in mind that this is a non-UO site that we have no responsibility for.) |
Maintained by John Russell, johnruss@uoregon.edu