THE ARCHITECTURE OF THE UNIVERSITY OF OREGON

Tree of Knowledge |
Researching the University's built environment involve strategies and resources that also apply in exploring other local history subjects. Listed below are some sources of value in studying UO's art and architecture.
|
- Books & Parts of Books.
Such classics as Henry D. Sheldon's History of University of Oregon (Binfords & Mort, 1940) can be found by searching the UO library catalog. More specific works like Architects of Oregon: A Biographical Dictionary of Arcitects Deceased (Portland, 2002) can also be found. Faculty and students in the School of Architecture & Allied Arts have long contributed to the history of campus architecture, through research articles, theses, and projects, and through their own participation in design projects.
- Articles in Journals & Magazines.
Databases such as the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals lead to articles on environmental design, but often material of regional interest will be discovered in periodicals with a different audience, such as Oregon Quarterly, Old Oregon, and Oregon Today. Sometimes these periodicals are not indexed at all, or are indexed locally by volunteer efforts. The Oregon Historical Quarterly is indexed by America: History and Life.
- Articles in Newspapers.
Newspapers are primary sources for information about local building activity. Although newspapers can be as inaccurate as any medium, they provide contemporary accounts and details that cannot be found elsewhere. Microfilm copies of the Oregon Daily Emerald, the Register Guard, and hundred of other newspapers are held by the UO Libraries. For information about newspapers and their indexes, see the library guide, "Looking for Newspapers," accessible from the UO Libraries website. The Emerald is one of the best resources for historical documentation about the university and an online index to its holdings will soon be available.
- Special Collections
The Special Collections Department of the Libraries is the home of several units which collect and manage unique resources, such as UO's archives, books about Oregon, rare books, and collections of photographs and manuscripts.
- Maps & Aerial Photography.
The Library's Documents Center maintains an extensive map and aerial photograph collection. These resources assist in identifying changes in the landscape over time. Maps and aerial photographs can visually identify relationships among structures and landscapes that text alone cannot sufficiently convey.
- The UO Planning Office.
The Campus Planning and Facilities Services offices hold collections of as-built drawings, drawings of archival value, and documentation about UO's built environment. UO planning & facilities personnel have substantial knowledge about campus history and the processes which created UO's physical environment.
- The World Wide Web.
On the Web can be found the sites of architectural and building firms and related professional associations which are rich resources of primary information. Search engines are useful for uncovering references about buildings or architects.
|