University of Oregon Libraries
University of Oregon Libraries

Building Construction

This guide lists basic resources for finding information in building construction. For further assistance, contact Edward Teague, subject specialist for architectural areas, at ehteague@uoregon.edu.

Starting Your Research

Consult a dictionary, encyclopedia, or handbook to find basic definitions and overviews of topics. Many of these texts (print and online) have biblographies or links that can lead to further research. Some key titles are listed below. Click on print titles (with call numbers) to identify location and availability.

Finding Articles

Find articles in journals, newspapers, or magazines by using an index. An index enables you to search by subject or a few keywords which describe your topic, or by author. Once you have an article citation, check the library catalog (see below) by doing a title search on the name of the journal to see if the UO Library holds the title and needed volume.
  • Web of Science.
    A multidisciplinary index, with searchable author abstracts. Coverage includes indexing of more than 5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines.
  • Avery Index to Architecture Periodicals.
    Emphasis on design, not building, although useful for examples of innovative technologies. Indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture, city planning, interior design and historic preservation. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present.

Finding books

  • UO Library Catalog
    Find books and other cataloged materials owned by the UO Library through subject, title, author, and keyword searching in this database. To find journal articles, use the databases listed in the section above, then use the UO Library Catalog to see if the library owns the journal title and needed volume.
  • Orbis Union Catalog
    Orbis is a consortium of regional libraries whose members include UO, Oregon State University, Portland State University, and others.
  • WorldCat.
    This database records library holdings from around the world.

Finding Web resources

Several excellent gateways to construction Web resources have been created to identify the best sites among thousands available via the Internet. Among the best are the those listed below.

Finding people and associations

Finding building codes

Maintained by: Ed Teague, ehteague@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 11/15/2006