Dictionaries, encyclopedias
Books
The database listing library holdings (predominately books) is usually called a catalog. The UO Library catalog comes in two flavors.
- UO Local Catalog accesses books and other cataloged materials owned by the UO Libraries
- UO WorldCat. This database includes library holdings from around the world. Note: The UO WorldCat database also includes articles and other kinds of materials. Searches can be restricted to type of material, date, scope, etc. Can also narrow by UO Library, Summit Libraries, or Worldwide Libraries.
- New additions to the UO Libraries. A monthly list of new titles organized by broad subjects.
Articles
There are many databases for articles in journals and trade magazines that are useful for architectural research. Clicking on
the FindText which appears with citations helps you locate an item in the library, online, or elsewhere. Multi-database searching is a feature that can be employed to expand searches beyond one database.
- Avery Index to Architecture Periodicals. The principal architecture database indexes 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on
architecture, landscape architecture, planning, interior design, and
preservation. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage
dating back to the 1860s) to the present.
- Academic Search Premier. Contains indexing for more than 8,000
publications, with full text for approximately 4,600 of these titles.
ASP focuses on academic, social sciences, humanities, general science,
education and multi-cultural journals. Full text backfiles go
as far back as 1965.
- UO WorldCat. - In addition to library holdings, millions of article citations populate this
database.
- Web of Science The most comprehensive coverage of humanities, science, and social science articles,
1965-present. The database may be searched by keyword or author, or for
works that cite a specified author or paper.
- Newspaper indexes are good for local, regional information. There are several online Oregon newspaper indexes.
Images, plans, data about architecture
Some sources for plans, images, descriptive information of architecture:
- ARTstor, over 200,000
architectural images including Quick Time panoramas (QTVR) are included
in this database of over 1,000,000 images.
Others:
- Building Oregon: Architecture of Oregon & the Pacific Northwest, over 18,500 images& data
- Building Technology Heritage Archive. Reproductions of trade catalogs and house plan catalogs from the 19th century on.
- Digital Sanborn Maps (Oregon)
- Digital Images of Architecture
- Great Buildings Collection Online has a great core collection of image. Linked with Archiplanet.
- Grove Art Online provides online access to hundreds of art and architecture images
- AAI: Art & Architecture Images Database, created by the UO Visual Resources Collection, provides access to thousands of images. Good source for plans.
- Pacific Coast Architecture Database, includes images and information on the buildings and designers of Oregon, Washington, and California.
- Structurae; International Database and Gallery of Structures. Images and data on over 40,000 works.
- Sears Home Archive. From 19081940, Sears, Roebuck and Company sold more than 100,000 homes through their mail-order Modern Homes program.
- Google's Image Search, Google Earth, and Google Maps (with street view) can be useful tools to find images or verify building information.
- Databases like the Avery Index enable refined searches to help locate plans, sections, etc.
News about architecture
- ArchitectureWeek
provides architectural news, information about
competitions, conferences, links to images, product info, and a
searchable index to architectural firms. Integrated with Great
Buildings Collection and Archiplanet.
- BuildingGreen.com . Includes articles, reviews, and news from Environmental Building News (EBN), the GreenSpec products directory , and the High-Performance Buildings Database featuring case studies.
- McGraw Hill Construction. Comprehensive site includes project & building news (e.g., Northwest Construction), GreenSource for sustainability info, product sources like Sweets Network, & directories such as the Blue Book of Building & Construction.
- Portland Architecture. Blog about design in Portland.
Professional associations & directories
Building codes & standards
- Oregon: Oregon Building Codes.
The
Oregon Structural Specialty Code, Oregon Mechanical Specialty Code ,
and the Oregon Residential Specialty Code are accessible online.
- Oregon cities: Eugene City Code, Portland City Code
- LEED (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) resources: Follow this link to retriev LEED publications in the UO Libraries.
Graphic standards
- Architectural Graphic Standards. 11th ed. AAA REF TH2031 .A84 2007
- Interior Graphic Standards. AAA REF TH2031 .M34 2003
- Time Saver Standards for Building Types. AAA REF NA2760 .D42 2001
- Time Saver Standards for Interior Design and Space Planning. AAA REF NK2110 .T48 2001
- Time Saver Standards for Landscape Architecture. AAA REF SB475.9 S72 T55 1998
- Time Saver Standards for Urban Design. AAA REF HT166 .T47 2003
- Universal Design Handbook. AAA REF NA2545.A1 U55 2001.
Terminal projects