If you are having trouble finding a resource that you used to find here, please contact the
Anthropology Librarian:
Miriam Rigby,
rigby@uoregon.edu; 346-7202
Starting Your Research
These sources can help you identify a topic for your research. Some provide an overview of a specific issue and suggest other materials which might be useful for your research. Others help you to notice a topic that might be of interest to you.
- Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology; GN 307 .E52 1996, Knight Reference
Explores topics on human cultural variation, cross-cultural comparison, holistic views of specific cultures, and ethnographic field work.
- Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics; P 29 .E48 1994, Knight Reference
Includes entries for specific languages and for topics on the nature of human language.
- History of Physical Anthropology: An Encyclopedia; GN 50.3 .H57 1997, Knight Reference
Covers developments in primatology, paleoanthropology, human genetics and evolution, human biological variation, and human ecology.
- Oxford Companion to Archaeology; CC 70 .O96 1996, Knight Reference
Includes entries for how archaeologists work, theoretical frameworks used to reconstruct and explain the past, and world prehistory.
- There are many indexes available for ethnic, gender or geographic area studies. For examples, see the library's research guides for African Studies or Women's Studies.
- The Map and Aerial Photography Collection, on the first floor of the Knight Library, holds collections of maps, atlases, aerial photographs, and geographic reference books. For example:
- An Anthropological Atlas: Ecology and Cultural Traits, Languages and Linguistic Traits, Demographic and Biological Traits; GN 635 .I4 S55 1993, MAP Library
- Indian Tribes and Languages of the Old Oregon Country [map]; G 4241.E3 1959.O7 , MAP Library
- The Atlas of World Archaeology; CC 165 .A85 2000, MAP Library
- Anthro.Net
A searchable database containing thousands of reviewed web sites and bibliographic references relating to anthropology, archaeology, history, linguistics, psychology, and sociology.
- Anthropology Internet Resources
- ArchNet is the Archaeological Research Institute's virtual library for archaeology resources on the internet. It organizes sites by region and subject. It also has a directory of academic departments, publishers and museums, as well as current news.
- Voice of the Shuttle
A superb virtual library that offers a portal to well selected and annotated links, including teaching resources, journals, and newsgroups.
Maintained by Miriam Rigby, rigby@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 03/09/2011