Skip To Main ContentUniversity of Oregon
University of Oregon Libraries
University of Oregon Libraries

Advanced Research in Anthropology

The following is a selected list of resources for more extensive research in anthropology. For further assistance, contact Barbara Jenkins, Reference Librarian and Anthropology subject specialist, at jenkins@uoregon.edu

Quick Facts

  • Library Regular Hours: Mon-Th 8am-midnight; Fr 8am-7pm; Sa 11am-7pm; Su 11am-midnight
  • Anthropology Librarian: Barbara Jenkins
  • Research Assistance
    • Desk: Knight Library, 1st floor
    • Phone: (541)346-1818
    • IM: uoreference (AIM, MSN, Yahoo)
    • Email: libref@uoregon.edu
  • University libraries

Finding a book

University of Oregon Books
University of Oregon Library Catalog

  • Search by keyword, author, title, subject, call number, etc.; search specific collections, formats, language, years
  • 6 month loan + one renewal (bring materials to circulation desk for further renewals)
  • Use your patron record to save searches, receive email updates and renew books
  • Recall books that have been checked out
Non-University of Oregon Books
Summit: Orbis Cascade Alliance Catalog (or through UO Catalog)
  • If we do not own a copy; if our copy is checked out or on Reserve
  • 3 week loan
  • No fee to use this service
  • Arrives in 2-3 days

Interlibrary Loan (or through WorldCat)

  • If Summit does not have a copy or it is unavailable
  • No fee to use this service
  • Arrives in 5-7 days

Finding Articles

Below are some important indexes for Anthropology research that contain citations, abstracts to articles, book reviews, essays, etc. Do not limit yourselves to these indexes. Remember there are specialized indexes (print and electronic) for regional, gender, ethnic, religious studies, geography, etc. that you can find linked from the library's homepage and on the databases page at http://libweb.uoregon.edu/dc/indexes/index.php and through the list of library guides (http://libweb.uoregon.edu/guides/). Any reference librarian can help you find appropriate databases. See bottom of page for more subfield-specific databases.

Anthropological Literature
Anthropological Literature is a bibliographic index to articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies. Updated quarterly, Anthropological Literature indexes articles two or more pages long in works published in English and other European languages from the 19th century to the present.

AnthroSource
AnthroSource, the American Anthropology Association's web portal, provides a complete full-text archive of all peer-reviewed journals, newsletters, and bulletins published by the American Anthropological Association. The archive is fully searchable through full-text keyword, phrase, and Boolean searches across all AnthroSource content or selected subsets. There are currently 31 AAA titles in AnthroSource. AAA peer-reviewed journals are in Anthropological Literature, but many of the smaller newsletters and bulletins can only be found in AnthroSource.

Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts provides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It includes citations since 1963 (abstracts begin in 1974) for articles in over 1,500 journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations. The database is updated 6 times a year. It can be useful in Anthropological Research.

Web of Science  
Web of Science provides access to the Social Science Citation Index and the Science Citation Index Expanded, from 1996 to the present. The database can be used to search for articles and to look for cited references.

Finding Full-Text Articles

Once you have identified an article citation, there are several ways to locate the journal in print or online.

  1. In the database you're using, click on the button on the article that you'd like to see and follow the links to the online copy or to the UO Library Catalog.
  2. Search the UO Catalog under "Journals and Serials" for the title of the journal, not the article title, then use FindText to locate additional electronic access.
  3. Use the FindText page linked on the library's homepage, to find the full text of an article online, if available from UO, or to find other means of accessing the journal in print or through interlibrary loan.

Some databases will take you directly to the full text version of an article. Be aware that different databases cover different years and, therefore, it is important to use FindText to locate other online and print copies of an article. If we do not have an article electronically or in print, you can submit an interlibrary loan request.

Finding Tables of Content and Current Awareness

Staying current in your discipline is challenging and important. One way to stay up to date is to read newly published books and articles. Some the resources to help you keep up are:

Ingenta
Set up searches and select journals for weekly updates by email. You can connect to Ingenta in our list of indexes on the library homepage.

UO Library Catalog Preferred Searches
Save catalog searches by setting up your own account and using the Catalog Alert Service.

Annual Review of Anthropology
The Annual Review is available electronically by doing a journal title search on our catalog.

Other Collections in the Library

Documents Center
The Documents Center has government information, maps, statistics, our microforms collection and business information. Some materials that may be useful for anthropological research are:

  • Statistics
    The Documents Center is the main reference point for locating local, state, national, international and federal statistics. The link listed is a good starting point to locate statistical information.
  • Maps
    The Map Collection includes many map resources including aerial photography back to 1925, GIS data and many other print and digital images.
  • Environmental Impact Statements
    Produced by the National Park Service and the Forest Service, these include information on archaeological excavations and cultural resource surveys.
  • Microforms
    This is a vast collection of information, housed in microfilm, microfiche and microprint. A subject guide is at http://libweb.uoregon.edu/govdocs/micro/subjectguides.html.
Special Collections and University Archives
This collection includes millions of items including print and digital images, personal and corporate manuscripts, images, diaries, rare books and much more. Some examples are:

Helpful UO Library Websites

Sociocultural Topics

Sociological Abstracts  
Sociological Abstracts provides access to the latest research in Sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It includes citations since 1963 (abstracts begin in 1974) for articles in over 1,500 journals, conference papers, books and dissertations. The database is updated six times a year.

PsychInfo
PsycINFO provides indexing and abstracting for journals in psychology, as well as indexing for doctoral dissertations and anthologies in psychology. PsycINFO can also be useful for interdisciplinary research in other disciplines.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch contains the complete text of articles, editorials, and reviews published in approximately 200 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines and journals published in the U.S, dating back to the mid-1990s. Ethnic Newswatch is searchable in both English and Spanish.

Contemporary Women's Issues
This database provides full-text access to global information on women. Journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies, along with fact sheets are easily accessed through CWI.

Physical/Biological Topics

Medline
Medline covers all areas of biomedicine, including nutrition, forensics and medical anthropology from 1965 to the present. It corresponds to the printed indexes Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature and the International Nursing Index, and indexes 3,700+ journals.

BIOSIS
Indexes 500 journals in the biological sciences, including human biology and primatology, from 1988 to the present.

Archaeology Topics

Check out the Guide to Archaeological Sites and Information for help in creating effective searches.

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
Multidisciplinary coverage of environmental sources from 1981 to the present. Includes environmental impact statements.

GeoBase
Covers worldwide literature in geography, ecology, & related disciplines. Subject coverage includes cartography, climatology, meteorology, paleontology, and volcanology. GeoBase contains citations to journal articles and books from 1980 to the present.

GeoRef
Consists of citations to nearly 2 million items about geology and earth sciences. This database corresponds to the entries in the "Bibliography and Index of Geology" from 1785 to the present for North American records and 1933 to the present for world records. This database is international in scope.

Linguistic and Folklore Topics

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
LLBA provides complete coverage of language and linguistics from about 600 journals.

MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography indexes critical materials about all literatures (except classical Greek and Roman), languages, folklore and film. The MLA International Bibliography covers materials from 1963 to the present and is updated 10 times a year although not all indexing is up-to-date.

Return to top

Maintained by: Barbara Jenkins, jenkins@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 01/18/2007