Alerting Service
What are alerting services?
Alerting services are automated email notices sent by publishers, databases, and other entities to alert you to new publications in your field of interest. Some examples of alerting services are:
- Weekly alerts of new materials from the UO Libraries' Catalog.
- Many online databases and indices will alert you when they index new items in your field.
- Many online journals will alert you when they publish a new issue.
Alerting services for journals and journal articles
General and Interdisciplinary
- Blackwell Select provides tables of contents of journals, with links to abstracts.
- Cambridge University Press provides notification of its new journal issues. Register, log in, and select "Personalise" from the "Account Options" drop-down menu. Select "Journals of interest" or "Subjects of interest" to set up alerts by publication or keyword.
- EBSCO's Academic Search Premier will email you notice of new articles matching your search terms. Run a search, click the "Search History/Alerts" tab, enter your user name and password, and then click "Save Searches / Alerts."
- EBSCOHost Electronic Journals Service will email you the table of contents for new issues of journals that interest you. Sign in, create a personal profile, then click "Create Alert" from any item record.
- Highwire will email you the table of contents or pre-publication content for many journals and annual reviews, primarily in the social sciences and sciences. First register for a free acount. Then click on "My Email Alerts" and select "Add." You'll see an alphabetical list of all the journals covered by Highwire's service; choose the ones you want and specify the type of alert you'd like to receive.
- ingenta.com will email you the table of contents from any of more than 30,000 journals or magazines, both online and in print. From the ingenta homepage, click "Register," then "Manage My Ingenta."
- Magazines Fulltext Run a search, click the "Search History/Alerts" tab, enter your user name and password, and then click "Save Searches / Alerts."
- MasterFile Premier Run a search, click the "Search History/Alerts" tab, enter your user name and password, and then click "Save Searches / Alerts."
- Newspaper Source Run a search, click the "Search History/Alerts" tab, enter your user name and password, and then click "Save Searches / Alerts."
- Oxford University Press provides tables of contents for new journal issues.
- Project Muse provides e-mail notifications of new journal issues or new titles available in its online collection of more than 200 scholarly journals in arts and humanities, the social sciences, and mathematics.
- Taylor and Francis provides an email alert service for its over 750 academic journals in various disciplines.
Disciplines
- Art/Art History
- ARTBibliographies Modern
- After completing a search, click on "Save History/Alerts."
- Business
- Business Source Elite
- Run a search, click the "Search History/Alerts" tab, enter your user name and password, and then click "Save Searches / Alerts."
- Business Wire News
- Run a search, click the "Search History/Alerts" tab, enter your user name and password, and then click "Save Searches / Alerts."
- History
- America: History and Life
- Click on "CLIO Alert Profile" and then "Create a New Profile."
- Historical Abstracts
- Click on "CLIO Alert Profile" and then "Create a New Profile."
- Human Physiology/Sports
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
- Run a search, click the "Search History/Alerts" tab, enter your user name and password, and then click "Save Searches / Alerts."
- Medline alerts are provided by Pubcrawler and BioMail
Pubmed alerts are managed by My NCBI, which has extensive help pages. - SportDISCUS
Run a
search, click the "Search History/Alerts" tab, enter your user name and
password, and then click "Save Searches / Alerts." - Linguistics
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
- After completing a search, click on "Save History/Alerts."
- Military Studies
- Military Library Fulltext
- Run a search, click the "Search History/Alerts" tab, enter your user name and password, and then click "Save Searches / Alerts."
- Philosophy
- Philosopher's Index
- Click on "SDI" in the top right corner of the screen. Follow the prompts to register and create an SDI search, which will be run every time the database is updated.
-
- Psychology
- PsycInfo
- Click "Personal Account" below the Search History table to create an account. Run a search, then click "Save Search History." Select "as an AutoAlert (SDI) Serviceas an AutoAlert (SDI) Service," and enter your email address for notification. For more information, check "Saved Searches," under Ovid's "Help."
- Sciences
- Biosis
- Click "Personal Account" below the Search History table to create an account. Run a search, then click "Save Search History." Select "as an AutoAlert (SDI) Serviceas an AutoAlert (SDI) Service," and enter your email address for notification. For more information, check "Saved Searches," under Ovid's "Help."
- Elsevier Science Direct
- One of the world's largest providers of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature. Register for an account, then click "My Alerts," log in, and select journals whose new issues you wish to be notified of.
- Elsevier ContentsDirect
- Delivers Elsevier Science book and journal tables of contents, covering the publisher's imprints Elsevier, Pergamon, North Holland and Excerpta Medica.
- Health Source Plus: Consumer Edition
- Run a search, click the "Search History/Alerts" tab, enter your user name and password, and then click "Save Searches / Alerts."
- Highwire will email you the table of contents or pre-publication content for many journals and annual reviews, primarily in the social sciences and sciences. First register for a free acount. Then click on "My Email Alerts" and select "Add." You'll see an alphabetical list of all the journals covered by Highwire's service; choose the ones you want and specify the type of alert you'd like to receive.
- The Institute of Physics (IOP) Electronic Journals Collection offers both Table of Contents alerts and Enhanced Alerts, using keywords. Create a user name and password via the "Create account" link to set up these services.
- Web of Science
- Provides citation alerts to let you know when your work (or someone else's) has been cited. Instructions for setting up an alert are here.
- Zoological Record
- After completing a search, click on "Save History/Alerts."
Alerting services for Annual Reviews
Review articles are bibliographies in essay form that trace the progress of research in a field and provide an excellent overview of the direction certain research has taken. These review articles are often found in journals entitled Annual review of... or Year's Work in ... or Advances in ... and are published in many (but not all) disciplines.
To receive an electronic copy of the table of contents or publication ahead of print for any of the following Annual Reviews, go to Highwire and register for a free acount. Then click on "My Email Alerts" and select "Add." You'll see an alphabetical list of all the journals covered by Highwire's service; scroll down to the As to find the Annual Review in your subject area.
Alerting services for books
- Knight Library can send you a weekly alert of new books in your field of study. See the guide to Catalog Alerts for more information.
- Amazon.com will notify you of new books published, by subject area or author. Scroll down to "Email Notifications," and click "Alerts."
- Blackwell Select notifies you of new books by subject.
- Powell's Books in Portland, OR will notify you when the store acquires an out-of-print or hard-to-find book. Registering for notification does not initiate a search for the book, and it doesn't obligate you to buy a copy if Powell's acquires one.
Maintained by: Jeff Staiger, jstaiger@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 10/22/2007