UO Libraries Home Page

Visual Literacy: freshman seminar

Fall 2009

Guides Home | Finding Articles | Finding Books | Citing Sources |  | Plagiarism


This page should help you with your library research assignment. Feel free to contact me with questions. You may also want to try the UO Libraries LibX Toolbar for your browser!


Chat with Cara!


Chat requires JavaScript.

Cara
Librarian for: Art, Art History, and Arts and Administration
You can also reach me by email at clist@uoregon.edu

Start your research by defining a topic:

Begin your library assignment by exploring various media as possible topics for your paper.  Encyclopedias can be excellent sources for short articles that provide an overview of a subject.
  • Dictionary of Media and Communications.  by Marcel Danesi Knight Ref P87.5 .D359 2009  Browse the shelves in Knight reference around this resource to find other useful information on advertising and other communications and media topics. 
  • Grove Dictionary of Art and Oxford Art Online (including the Oxford Companion to Western Literature, the Dictionary of Aesthetics and the Consise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms)  The "Grove" is the most comprehensive encyclopedia of art, artists, movements and cultures in English.  However, some of the media that are not traditionally considered to be areas of formal fine arts may not be represented.
  • Wikipedia:  Yes, yes, some people will tell you not to use Wikipedia (see the famous Colbert Report video on Comedy Central that mocks its credibility), but Wikipedia may actually be much more thorough and up to date on some "new" media than other more traditionally published resources. Make sure to think critically about the articles you read, check the references at the bottom of the page, and consider the quality of these information sources-- are they scholarly?

Find journal articles:



This box is searching the following databases, but you can search them one at a time too.  You can also find other worthwhile databases on the OneSearch advanced page.  Search these art indexes on your topic to find out if topics such as bloging, social networking, comics or advertising are being written about in the art literature.

Art Abstracts  provides access to the content of leading art and design journals covering all aspects of art, art history and theory, as well as other related areas including some performance, theater and film.

ArtBibliographies Modern  provides access to essays and chapters on contemporary art from journals, exhibition catalogs, and books on modern art from the late 19th century.

Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
The DAAI is an index of design journals relating to many areas of design.

Academic Search PremierThe UO's primary inter- and multi- disciplinary index to journal literature. Both scholarly and popular journals are represented.

You may also want to try:

Communication and Mass Media Complete indexes over 500 mass media journals and offers the full text of about 230 of these. Great for information about advertising and other aspects of mass media.

Google Scholar   Here you can find articles that are archived in free open access online archives like the Scholars Bank. Get more information about Scholars Bank.

JSTOR is an online archive of over 400 academic journals. All articles in JSTOR are peer reviewed.

Get more help:
Looking for Articles in Journals and Magazines presents strategies for using journal indexes and databases.

Scholarly vs. Popular provides you with clues about how to distinguish the difference between scholarly (aka peer-reviewed or refereed) and popular journal articles.

Find books:

UO Libraries   You may also begin your search in the local catalog. The local catalog will provide access to some materials which do not appear in UO WorldCat.  To see whether a search in UO Worldcat or at the UO Libraries will serve your needs best, consult this chart.

UO WorldCat
, also available on the catalog tab on the UO Libraries' homepage, locates books, journals, videos and other library materials at the UO, Summit libraries and in libraries around the world. Materials owned by the UO are listed first on the results list, followed by Summit and then by libraries elsewhere.  The UO WorldCat is not ideal for keyword searching, but if you already know the title or the author you are looking for this works very well.

Get more help:
For more information about the UO Library Catalog, the Summit catalog and UO WorldCat see the Books and More page.

Borrowing materials from other libraries: Interlibrary loans(ILL) and Summit borrowing provides you with more information about borrowing books and other library materials from libraries in the Summit consortium and beyond.  You may also find ILL forms for books and journals on this page.  Use these forms when you have a citation from a bibliography or other information source.

Find images:

AP Archive : The photographic archive of the Associated Press, search for photographs reflecting news, culture, celebrity and daily life around the world.

ARTstor :  On campus access or Off campus access  Over a million images of art and cultural objects, photographs supporting history and cultural studies from all over the world, anthropology, architecture and more.

Special Areas of Research:

Advertising:
Ad Critic, run by Advertising Age, Ad Critic includes videos of top picks for television advertising, images of top print ads and more.

Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising (Docs Reference HF5803 .A38 2003) is a well illustrated resource that provides background information on all aspects of advertising.

Clipland short form media database including music videos, advertising and others.

Eastern Michigan University Research Guide for Advertising, Marketing and Market Research is an extensive list of mostly online resources on marketing and advertising.

Animation/Anime/Manga:
Animated Divots is a chronology of international animated movies, tv programs and shorts, as well as filmographies and a list of books and journals featuring animation information.

The Anime Encyclopedia: a guide to Japanese animation since 1917 (Knight Reference NC1766 .J3 C53 2001)

Anime Image Galleries at the Open Directory Project  A list of image galleries featuring anime for you to explore.

Cartoonists Northwest  is an organization of cartoonists in the Pacific NW.  Includes news and a gallery.

Society for Animation Studies is an international academic organization dedicated to the study of the history and theory of animation

Comics:
The Encyclopedia of American Comics (Knight Reference PN6725 .G64 1990)

The Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & Museum, at Ohio State University includes the Billy Ireland Cartoon Database, digital portfolios and digital exhibits.

Lambiek: Underground Comics and the Underground Press is a site started by Dutch comic artists, but has become international in scope.  The Comiciclopedia contains information about thousands of comic artists.

Graffiti:
 Ekosystem a street art, but non-hip hop gallery with an international scope.  Contributors primarily from Europe, but also from the Americas, Asia and other parts of the world submit images of graffiti to the gallery.

Graffiti Art Styles: a classification system and theoretical analysis by Lisa Gottlieb (AAA HD2590 .G68 2008)

New York City Graffiti@149th Street is dedicated to the preservation of the graffiti art form born on the subway cars of New York.

Get more ideas by watching a presentation at TED: Ideas worth spreading  TED is a non-profit organization that is dedicated to exploring new thought on technology, education and design, and beyond.  TED sponsors an annual conference in Long Beach where presentations are recorded and are made available on this site.  You can browse themes (click themes at the top of the page) or search for a topic or a speaker.  Search for Jeff Han to see him demonstrate a 10-point touch screen that allows the user to sculpt  or play an instrument digitally for one of my favorites.


Tutorials

This tutorial discusses the elements that reveal whether the information you find on the web is trustworthy.

This video is about reading a scientific article, but the lessons also apply to scholarly journal articles in other disciplines.

 

Maintained by: Cara List, clist@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 10/28/2009