UO Libraries Home Page

FIG: Get the Picture

Fall 2009

Guides Home | A&AA Guides | Finding Articles | Finding Books | Citing Sources | | Plagiarism


This page should help you with your library research assignment. Feel free to contact me with questions. You may also want to try the UO Libraries LibX Toolbar for your browser!


Chat with Cara!


Chat requires JavaScript.

Cara
Librarian for: Art, Art History, and Arts and Administration
You can also reach me by email at clist@uoregon.edu

Start your research:

Begin your assignment by getting an overview of the aspect of the business of art that you are interested in.  Finding an article in an encyclopedia may allow you to either focus your attention, or make you aware of additional aspects of your topic before you look for books and journal articles.
  • Grove Dictionary of Art and Oxford Art Online (including the Oxford Companion to Western Literature, the Dictionary of Aesthetics and the Consise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms)
  • Oxford Reference Premium: Economics and Business Resources: Search here in selected online reference works on business from Oxford University Press.
  • Dictionary of Media and Communications.  by Marcel Danesi Knight Ref P87.5 .D359 2009  Browse the shelves in Knight reference around this resource to find other useful information on advertising and other communications and media topics.  
  • Wikipedia:  Yes, yes, some people will tell you not to use Wikipedia (see the famous Colbert Report video on Comedy Central that mocks its credibility), but Wikipedia may actually be much more thorough and up to date on some aspects of the internet, such as social networking than other more traditional reference works.Make sure to think critically about the articles you read, check the references at the bottom of the page, and consider the quality of these information sources-- are they scholarly?

Find journal articles:

Search in these art databases for terms like marketing, advertising, promotion, social networking or others that address the business side of your research:

This box is searching the following databases, but you can search them one at a time too. You can also find other worthwhile databases on the OneSearch advanced page.

Art Abstracts provides access to the content of leading art and design journals covering all aspects of art, art history and theory, as well as other related areas including some performance, theater and film.

ArtBibliographies Modern provides access to essays and chapters on contemporary art from journals, exhibition catalogs, and books on modern art from the late 19th century.

Design and Applied Arts Index tends to focus more on journals from areas outside the traditional core of fine arts, which depending on your opinion may or may not include photography. In any event, photography journals and articles are indexed here.


Search these business databases for terms like artists, art, painting or your own terms that address the art aspect of your research:

This box is searching the following databases, but you can search them one at a time too. You can also find other worthwhile databases on the OneSearch advanced page.


Business Source Premier Full text from nearly 930 journals covering business, management, economics, etc. Search here for business information related to art, artists, galleries, and/or museums.

Factiva Factiva offers full text of 8,000 international business and general publications including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present, financial profiles for companies worldwide and historical stock prices as well as current data and market indexes.

You may also want to try:
Communication and Mass Media Complete indexes over 500 mass media journals and offers the full text of about 230 of these. Great for information about advertising and other aspects of mass media.

Research Guide for Business offers a number of suggestions for more topically specific business databases.

Get more help:
Looking for Articles in Journals and Magazines presents strategies for using journal indexes and databases.

Scholarly vs. Popular provides you with clues about how to distinguish the difference between scholarly (aka peer-reviewed or refereed) and popular journal articles.

Find books:


UO Libraries You may also begin your search in the local catalog. The local catalog will provide access to some materials which do not appear in UO WorldCat. To see whether a search in UO Worldcat or at the UO Libraries will serve your needs best, consult this chart.

UO WorldCat
, also available on the catalog tab on the UO Libraries' homepage, locates books, journals, videos and other library materials at the UO, Summit libraries and in libraries around the world. Materials owned by the UO are listed first on the results list, followed by Summit and then by libraries elsewhere.

Get more help:
For more information about the UO Library Catalog, the Summit catalog and UO WorldCat see the Books and More page.

Borrowing materials from other libraries: Interlibrary loans(ILL) and Summit borrowing provides you with more information about borrowing books and other library materials from libraries in the Summit consortium and beyond. You may also find ILL forms for books and journals on this page. Use these forms when you have a citation from a bibliography or other information source.

Special Areas of Research:

Advertising:
Ad Critic, run by Advertising Age, Ad Critic includes videos of top picks for television advertising, images of top print ads and more.

Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising (Docs Reference HF5803 .A38 2003) is a well illustrated resource that provides background information on all aspects of advertising.

Clipland short form media database including music videos, advertising and others.

Eastern Michigan University Research Guide for Advertising, Marketing and Market Research is an extensive list of mostly online resources on marketing and advertising.

Social Networking:
Social Networking and Arts Organizations A report commissioned by the San Francisco Foundation and Grants for the Arts

The Art Market Blog Hosted by Nicholas Forrestt from New South Wales, Australia, this blog and site for information on the art market is international in scope.

Art Calendar Here is an article with tips on social networking for artists. 

Tutorials

This tutorial discusses the elements that reveal whether the information you find on the web is trustworthy.

This video from the Otis School of Art and Design may help you to distinguish the difference between scholarly and popular journals.

 

Maintained by: Cara List, clist@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 10/28/2009