Whether an artist is seeking to inform her/himself of the work of peers or predecessors,
or a scholar is pursuing a line of historic inquiry, research in art would go
nowhere quickly without access to images. This page presents a number of library
and online resources for locating art images. The resources below are designed
to provide you with an actual digital image of an artwork or a citation to find
a reproduction of an artwork in a book.
For additional help or consultation with a librarian, please contact the Architecture
and Allied Arts Library subject specialist for fine art, art history and arts
and administration Cara List
Practical Information
The resources in this section are not themselves image sources. These pages provide useful information on copyright, licensing and other issues associated with using images.
- Artists' Rights Society
This organization protects intellectual property rights for over 30,000
visual artists and visual artists' estates by helping image users to obtain
permission for use.
- Copyright &
Art Issues created by Christine Sundt, this page is for the advanced
student of copyright and images.
- Copyright
and Image Management created by Georgia Harper, this page provides an
excellent explanation of copyright, fair use and permission for the average
image user.
- Finding Images
on the Web This helpful page, created by the art librarian at Boston
University, provides information and links to other informative pages about
how to find images on the web, where to find them, and what you may (or
may not) do with them.
Gateway Sites
The websites listed in this section are not, themselves, image databases,
but are directories of image sites. Some of the image sites listed in these
directories have a fairly narrow focus, either on a particular artist or group
of artists, or on a particular collection of artworks.
- A Gateway to Online Resources Following the Classification Scheme of The Warburg Institute Library: Image This gateway site to art image sources online is produced by the Warburg Institute's School of Advanced Study in London. Sites are grouped into broad categories: Pre-Classical & Classical Art and Post-Classical & Modern Art and then sub-divided into still broad groups such as "Oriental Art", "Iconography" or "German Art".
- Art
History Resources on the Web These pages, created by Christopher Witcombe
and professor of Art History at Sweet Briar College links categorizes links
by hitoric period or geographic region.
- Art on the
Web by art historian, Jeffrey Howe at Boston College is an extensive
list of art history related links on the web. The list is subdivided by
categories such as "Art Databases", "Renaissance", or
"French Art", but is not annotated. Perhaps because of the size
of this list of links, some are very out of date.
- Mother of All Art and
Art History Links Page Created at the University of Michigan, "Mother"
provides links to many art and art history related sites including Image
Collections and Online Art, Online
Exhibitions and Art
Museums.
- Yahoo: Arts This page leads to
thousands sites representing all aspects of art and art history. Artists
pages and various projects to presnet artists' works may be found in the
"Artists" catagory.
General Art Image Databases
The following resources are searchable image databases. Some of these are
part of the University of Oregon Libraries' collections and some are available
on the free web. Highly useful sites are listed in bold face. It is worth noting that information found on sites located on the free web should always be double checked. Some sites provide citations for the textual information attached to images.
- Artchive The Artchive is a biographical dictionary, bibliography and image database
for over 200 of the most famous artists. It also provides several illustrated
essays on such broad topics as abstract expressionism or women artists.
Some images are hosted by the Artchive and some are located elsewhere on
the web. Image quality is generally high.
- Artcyclopedia This site is actually a digital reproduction index to the websites of museums
and galleries around the world. The site has indexed approximately 80,000
works of art by 7,000 artists, which are searchable by artist\'s name, title
of work, or museum. Since the images are on the individual museum sites,
copyright and usage rights vary. Understandably there is also variation
in the presentation and quality of images and in the amount of documentation
accompanying the image.
- artnet artnet is a subscription service providing information on auction and sale
prices as well as sales information on art for a huge network of galleries
from around the world. If you do not subscribe, images available for sale
in galleries are available. As a result, these pages are best for contemporary
artists. In German.
- Art Resource is
a commercial stock photo vendor specializing in fine art. As a study resource,
the searchable database of 250,000 images is a valuable resource.
- Art Serve This site was created and is maintained by Michael Greenhalgh, professor
of art history at the Australian National University. It currently contains
over 165,000 images mainly of art and architecture from the Mediterranean
basin, though the range is growing. The site functions best as a directory
rather than a search engine. Using the search box produces a mixture of
different types of results from images to other types of art history documents.
It is also regrettable that many of the images are clearly amature photography
and color quality is often poor. The copyright holder waives rights for
educational/non-profit uses.
- ARTstor (UO only)
ARTstor is a non-profit initiative to create a searchable repository
of digital images that can be used to enhance art historical reasearch and
education. The database currently contains over half a million images, mostly
of artm cultural objects, and architecture, though it also includes historical
photographs. ARTstor is actively expanding and making every effort to improve
weak areas in the collection such as 20th century art. A Student
Quick Guide provides assistance with using the Offline Image Viewer
and saving image groups.
- AskART: The Artists Bluebook AskART is really a full service directory of American artists, museums,
dealers, auction houses and more. However, the artists' directory which
contains bibliographies, biographical sketches and other information also
frequently contains images of the artist's work. There is no guarantee that
images will be included, but for most prominent contemporary artists and
many historic artists some images are included.
- Google Image Search Google allows you to do a keyword search including the artist's name and/or title
of the work of art. Keep in mind that results may vary considerably in quality
and authority.
- Grove
Dictionary of Art Image Link Search (UO only) The Grove allows users
to search the image links selected to illustrate articles in the Grove's
Dictionary of Art Online. Links are to images located at hundreds of international
museum and gallery websites.
- The Web Gallery of Art is
a searchable database of over 15,000 European paintings and sculptures from the 12th century to the time of the French Revolution. As a scholarly resource this is one of the best available on the free web. Many extra features and high quality images.
- UO Libraries
Art and Architecture Image Collection (UO only)
This image collection is a searchable
or browsable database of digital images of art and architecture. The collection is under development and will grow based on UO curricular demands. Many core images may currently be missing from this database. Ask your instructor whether images for your class are being added. If images you need for study are not available in this database, try ARTstor or ask to speak with the reference librarian.
Museum Collections
- Bildindex
der Kunst und Architektur is an art image database containing images
of artworks by over 69,000 international artists represented in German museums.
In German.
- Joconde:
Catalogue des Collections des Musees de France is a digital repository
for the collections of French museums. Select "recherche simple"
from the home page and make sure to check the "avec image" box
when you search on an artists name. You may also chose "recherche par
listes" to search by subject or theme. In French.
- The National Gallery of Art
Take tours of selected groups of art works or search the collection by artist's
name or title of work.
- The Thinker Image Base
This site currently contains over 75,000 images of art works owned by the
De Young and Legion of Honor Museums. The goal for this site is to provide
digital access to their complete holdings – all 110,000 works. The Thinker
Image Base includes images from the De Young\'s African, American, Americas,
Oceanic, and Textile art collections and the Legion of Honor\'s Ancient and
14th to 20th century European art collections. The museums\' excellent collections
in American and European decorative art are imaged here. One of the nicest
features of this site is the ability to click on the image to enlarge it,
then zoom in and move around it. The Museums\' use statement says that all
educational and non-commercial uses are allowed. An e-mail address is provided
to request publishable slides, transparencies or prints.
- The Virtual
Museum of Canada The image gallery contains thousands of digital reproductions
of works of art held by Canada's museums.
Specialized Art Image Databases
- Biblioteca
Ambrosiana: The Biblioteca Ambrosiana in Milan, Italy offers this inventory/catalog
of its collection of over 12,000 drawings by European artists active from
the fourteenth through the nineteenth centuries. Searchable, detailed information
is avalable with each image. Reproduction rights belong to the Biblioteca
Ambrosiana though you may print or email images for personal or academic
use.
- Artists
Index to Artwork Inventory, ArtScene
ArtScene, a monthly magazine published since 1982, is a guide to fine art
galleries and museums in Southern California. The web version includes an
image search feature that indexes and links to images of works by artists
who have had gallery or museum exhibits in Southern California. The database
is surprisingly extensive, and yet also has some big holes. ArtScene is
a particularly good source for locating work by emerging artists. Downloading
for personal/educational use is permitted. All images on the site have digital
watermarks.
- Corsair:
The Online Research Resource of the Pierpont Morgan Library
Corsair provides access to more than 20,000 images from the library's famed
collection of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts.
REPRODUCTION INDEXES
Reproduction Indexes are reference resources that index the reproductions of works of art used to illustrate books. Generally speaking, the author of a reproduction index will select a bibliography of well illustrated books that together, thoroughly cover a particular subject or medium and then index and cross reference each illustration to artist, title of the artwork and sometimes subject. Once you have mastered the use of one of these resources, the others will be easy to learn.
Special Media
Architecture
- Teague, Edward. World Architecture Index : A Guide to Illustrations.New York: Greenwood Press, 1991. AAA Ref NA202 .T4 1991
contains site, architect and work indexes. Reproductions are further defined as being plates, drawings, figures, elevations, sections, exterior views, or interior views. Black and white or color illustrations are distinguished.
Painting
- Cahill, James. An Index of Early Chinese Painters and Paintings: T'ang, Sung, and Yüan. Berkeley : University of California Press, 1980. AAA Ref ND1043.3 .C3
This index is organized by dynasty and then split into sections of known artists and anonymous paintings. Reproductions are indexed from books in Chinese, Japanese and English. Brief biographical information is included.
- Havlice, Patricia Pate. World Painting Index.
2 vols. Metuchen, NJ : Scarecrow Press, 1977. AAA Ref ND45 .H38
- Havlice, Patricia Pate. World Painting Index: First Supplement 1973-1980. 2 vols. Metuchen, NJ : Scarecrow Press, 1982. AAA Ref. ND45 .H38 Suppl. 1
- Havlice, Patricia Pate. World Painting Index: Second Supplement 1980-1989. 2 volumes. Metuchen, NJ : Scarecrow Press, 1995.AAA Ref. ND45 .H38 Suppl. 2
- Havilice, Patricia Pate. World Painting Index: Third Supplement 1990-1999. 2 vols. Lanham, MD : Scarecrow Press, 2003. AAA Ref ND45 .H38 Suppl. 3.
Probably one of the most useful reference works for finding reproductions of paintings. However, as this work attempts to index reproductions by all world painters through history, there are shortfalls. Emphasis is given to European and U.S. painters, and even these are not handled in great depth. Far and Middle Eastern, African, Australian and Latin American artists receive short shrift. Unfortunately, the last new supplement covered images printed between 1980 and 1989, so recent paintings are also not represented here.
- Korwin, Yala. Index to Two-Dimensional Art Works. 2 vols. Metuchen NJ : Scarecrow Press, 1981. AAA Ref. N 7525.K67
Though this resource is out of date for both contemporary art and recent publications, it may be very useful. Indexing all two dimensional, non-editioned work in color, it provides a subject/title index. Titles are listed alphabetically and subjects are followed by a list of "see also" titles. In the artist index works are followed by a collection abbreviation in parentheses and a reference to the bibliography of almost 300 books published between 1960 and 1977.
- Laing, Ellen J. An Index to Reproductions of Paintings by Twentieth-Century Chinese Artists. Eugene: Asian Studies Program, University of Oregon, 1984. AAA Ref. ND 1045.L35 1984
Indexes reproductions of paintings in Chinese, Japanese and western language books.
- Monro, Isabel S. and Kate M. Munro. Index to Reproductions of American Paintings. New York: Wilson, 1948. AAA Ref. ND 205.M57
- Monro, Isabel S. and Kate M. Munro. Index to Reproductions of American Paintings: First Supplement. New York: Wilson, 1964. AAA Ref. ND 205.M57 Suppl.
If you are interested in an American painter who worked before 1960, this resource has much greater depth than the World Painting Index. Artists who would be too obscure for the WPI do appear here. Sadly the last supplement was published in 1964.
- Smith, Lyn Wall and Nancy Dustin Wall Moure. Index to Reproductions of American Paintings. Metuchen: Scarecrow Press, 1977. AAA Ref. ND 205.S575
This is a good follow up to the Index to Reproductions of American Paintings, indexing reproductions of American paintings in publications from 1960 through 1977. It contains a genre index as well as the artist index.
Photography
- Moss, Martha. Photography Books Index : A Subject Guide to Photo Anthologies. Metuchen, NJ : The Scarecrow Press, 1980. AAA Ref TR 199 .M67
- Moss, Martha. Photography Books Index II : A Subject Guide to Photo Anthologies. Metuchen, NJ : The Scarecrow Press, 1985. AAA Ref TR199 .M67 1985
The rather short lists of indexed books used for these two volumes puts some distinct limits on the extent to which this resource can be used, but the subject indexes are quite specific. Indexed by photographer, and by subject.
- Parry, Pamela Jeffcott. Photography Index : A guide to Reproductions. Westport, CT : Greenwood Press, 1979 AAA Ref TR199 .P3
Unfortunately this resource is twenty years out of date, but for historical photographs it is perfectly adequate. The bibliography includes approximately eighty books in English, and the indexes are by photographer and by subject/title. Photography covered includes documentary, journalistic, and artistic.
Prints
- Bryce, Betty Kelly. American Printmakers 1946 -- 1996 : An Index to Reproductions and Biocritical Information. Lanham, MD : Scarecrow Press, 1999. AAA Ref 508 .B76 1999
- Williams, Lynn Barstis. American Printmakers 1880 -- 1946 : An Index to Reproductions and Biocritical Information. Metuchin, NJ : Scarecrow Press, 1993.
Both volumes contain a printmaker index and a subject index. Each printmaker entry references biographical information as well as listing works.
- Parry, Pamela J. and Kathe Chipman. Print Index: A Guide to Reproductions. Westport, CT : Greenwood Press, 1983.
This guide to locating works by 2100 printmakers contains an artist and a subject/title index. Artists' names and dates are followed by works, medium and a reference.
Sculpture
- Clapp, Jane. Sculpture Index. 3 volumes. Metuchen: Scarecrow Press, 1970. AAA Ref NB 36.C55
This massive two part work splits world sculpture into "Europe and the contemporary Middle East" (v. 1) and "The Americas, Orient, Africa, Pacific and classical world" (v. 2) a single index includes headings for artists names, titles of works, subjects and other descriptors such as dynasty or geographic name. Unfortunately there has been no new edition since the original publication in 1970.
Special Subjects
American Art
- Monro, Isabel S. and Kate M. Munro. Index to Reproductions of American Paintings. New York: Wilson, 1948. AAA Ref. ND 205.M57
- Monro, Isabel S. and Kate M. Munro. Index to Reproductions of American Paintings: First Supplement. New York: Wilson, 1964.AAA Ref. ND 205.M57 Suppl.
If you are interested in an American painter who worked before 1960, this resource has much greater depth than the World Painting Index. Artists who would be too obscure for the WPI do appear here. Sadly the last supplement was published in 1964.
- Smith, Lyn Wall and Nancy Dustin Wall Moure. Index to Reproductions of American Paintings. Metuchen: Scarecrow Press, 1977. AAA Ref. ND 205.S575
This is a good follow up to the Index to Reproductions of American Paintings, indexing reproductions of American paintings in publications from 1960 through 1977. contains a genre index as well as the artist index.
Asian Art
- Cahill, James. An Index of Early Chinese Painters and Paintings : T'ang, Sung, and Yüan. Berkeley : University of California Press, 1980. AAA Ref ND1043.3 .C3
This index is organized by dynasty and then split into sections of known artists and anonymous paintings. Reproductions are indexed from books in Chinese, Japanese and English. Brief biographical information is included.
- Laing, Ellen J. An Index to Reproductions of Paintings by Twentieth-Century Chinese Artists. Eugene: Asian Studies Program, University of Oregon, 1984.AAA Ref. ND 1045.L35 1984
Indexes reproductions of paintings in Chinese, Japanese and western language books.
Mythological/Classical Themes
- Rochelle, Mercedes. Mythological and Classical World Art Index: a locator of paintings, sculptures, frescoes, manuscript illuminations, sketches, woodcuts, and engravings executed 1200 B.C. to A.D. 1900, with a directory of institutions holding them. London: McFarland, 1991. AAA Ref. N 7760.R63 1991
With classical works the artist and the title of the piece are rarely known, so the approach used in this resource is different than that of other reproduction indexes. This resource is organized by subject, followed by a description of the work, the location and the reference.
INVENTORIES AND OBJECT LOCATORS
- The Inventories of American Painting & Sculpture Catalogis the result of two projects: the Inventory of American Paintings Executed before 1914, and the Inventory of American Sculpture. The result is a database containing information on over 335,000 works of art by American artists. You may search with six different keyword types or by all combined. Records provide basic information describing the work of art as well as its ownership, bibliographic references and information about reproductions.
- Eskind, Andrew H., ed. Index to American Photographic Collections. 3rd ed. New York : G.K. Hall & Co., 1995.AAA Ref TR 12 .E85 1996
This resource contains two cross-referenced indexes. The collections listing arranges major museum or institutional collections of photography by state. Each entry includes basic information about the collection and a list of the photographers included. The photographer index is an alphabetic listing of photographers\' names followed by the entry number of the collection.
- Rochelle, Mercedes. Mythological and Classical World Art Index: a
locator of paintings, sculptures, frescoes, manuscript illuminations,
sketches, woodcuts, and engravings executed 1200 B.C. to A.D. 1900,
with a directory of institutions holding them. London: McFarland, 1991. AAA Ref. N 7760.R63 1991
With classical works the artist and the title of the piece are
rarely known, so the approach used in this resource is different than
that of other reproduction indexes. This resource is organized by
subject, followed by a description of the work, the location and the
reference.
- Wright, Christopher. The World's Master Paintings: From the Early Renaissance to the Present Day.London: Routledge, 1992. AAA Ref. ND 40.W75 1992 2 vols.
This resource is a finding guide to more than 120,000 paintings that are in publicly accessible collections. Also provides very brief biographical information for artists included.
Maintained by: Cara List clist@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 10/08/2006