UO Libraries Home Page

FIG: The Art of Expression

Fall 2009

Guides Home | Finding Articles | Finding Books | Citing Sources |  | Plagiarism

You may also want to use the research guide for Theater.


This page should help you with your library research assignment. Feel free to contact me with questions. You may also want to try the UO Libraries LibX Toolbar for your browser!


Chat with Cara!


Chat requires JavaScript.

Cara
Librarian for: Art, Art History, and Arts and Administration
You can also reach me by email at clist@uoregon.edu

Start your research by defining a topic:

Begin your library assignment by learning about broad areas of possible research.  Reading an article in an online encyclopedia will help you to narrow and focus your ideas before you begin to search for books and articles.

Find journal articles:



This box is searching the following databases, but you can search them one at a time too.  You can also find other worthwhile databases on the OneSearch advanced page.

Art Abstracts  provides access to the content of leading art and design journals covering all aspects of art, art history and theory, as well as other related areas including some performance, theater and film.

ArtBibliographies Modern  provides access to essays and chapters on contemporary art from journals, exhibition catalogs, and books on modern art from the late 19th century.

Gender Studies Database covers the full spectrum of gender-focussed scholarship in many formats.

JSTOR  is an online archive of over 400 academic journals.  All articles in JSTOR are peer reviewed.


You may also want to try:
Google Scholar   Here you can find articles that are archived in free open access online archives like the Scholars Bank. Get more information about Scholars Bank.

Get more help:
Looking for Articles in Journals and Magazines presents strategies for using journal indexes and databases.

Scholarly vs. Popular provides you with clues about how to distinguish the difference between scholarly (aka peer-reviewed or refereed) and popular journal articles.

Find books:

UO WorldCat, also available on the catalog tab on the UO Libraries' homepage, locates books, journals, videos and other library materials at the UO, Summit libraries and in libraries around the world. Materials owned by the UO are listed first on the results list, followed by Summit and then by libraries elsewhere.

UO Libraries   You may also begin your search in the local catalog. The local catalog will provide access to some materials which do not appear in UO WorldCat.  To see whether a search in UO Worldcat or at the UO Libraries will serve your needs best, consult this chart.
 
Get more help:
For more information about the UO Library Catalog, the Summit catalog and UO WorldCat see the Books and More page.

Borrowing materials from other libraries: Interlibrary loans(ILL) and Summit borrowing provides you with more information about borrowing books and other library materials from libraries in the Summit consortium and beyond.  You may also find ILL forms for books and journals on this page.  Use these forms when you have a citation from a bibliography or other information source.


Find plays:

doolee.com is a free online guide to modern playwrights & plays appearing in English language since 1956. This database enables searches by play, playwright, publisher, theatre, and number of characters by sex. Ordering information is linked to titles. This database can be a start for subsequent library searches.

Tutorials

This tutorial discusses the elements that reveal whether the information you find on the web is trustworthy.

This video is about reading a scientific article, but the lessons also apply to scholarly journal articles in other disciplines.

 

Maintained by: Cara List, clist@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 10/28/2009