Get help from your librarian
Off-campus access
to electronic resources indicated below by the

is limited to
current UO students, faculty, and staff.
Artists' biography has been an element of art historical methodology since Giorgio Vasari (1511-74) bound the analysis of an artwork with the artist's own biography and thus with broader stylistic and historical cycles in Le vite de' più eccellenti architetti, pittori, et scultori italiani (commonly translated as simply The lives of the artists). Throughout the history of art history, no single paradigm for the interpretation and analysis of works of art has triumphed as an abiding and true methodology, but as Donald Preziosi writes in "Art History: making the Visible Legible" that there are several consistent concerns: the issues of causality and evidence, or ". . . the hypothesis that an artwork is reflective, emblematic, or generally representative of its original time, place, and circumstances of production" and that "changes in artistic form signal changes in individual or collective mentality or intention." For these reasons biography continues to be an important piece of art historical research, though typically more so within the western tradition of art history where the notion of the "genius" remains powerful.
The A&AA owns a large number of biographical works in its reference collection. This bibliography highlights just a few of the available resources. Do not forget to notice the year of publication when considering who may be included, and the perspective the author/editor may have on who should be included.
Biographical Indexes and Name Authorities
Indexes are lists of artists names that point the user to other sources where more information can be found. Name authorities provide information on the most common and useful spellings and forms of names. Indexes can also be used to assertain correct spellings and forms. This can be very important with names that have been transliterated from other alphabets, names that are hyphenated or otherwise complex, and artists who commonly go by only a first or last name, or a pseudonym.
- Allgemeines Kunstlerlexikon : Bio-bibliographischer Index A-Z = The artists of the world : Bio-bibliographical index A-Z. Munich : K.G. Saur, 1999--. AAA Ref N40 .A62 1999
With the new edition of the Allgemeines Kunstlerlexikon still far from complete,the publisher has created this name authority that contains the c.
500,000 artists' names that should appear in the finished biographical
work. Entries include a bibliographic reference to at least one biographical source. In English.
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index
contains nearly
12 million citations for individuals,
both living and dead in every area of human endeavor. Many artists' citations refer to older volumes of Who's Who in American Art.
- Union List of Artists' Names
This name authority is a searchable database of artists' names and their
variations for use in clarifying how a name is spelled or represented (this is especially helpful in cases of
transliteration), middle names, prefixes, hyphens etc. Less useful for more obscure artists. Includes biographical citations.
General Artists Biographical Sources
- Algemeines Kunstler-Lexikon
- Saur, K. G.. Allgemeines Kunstler-Lexikon: Die Bildenden Kunstler aller Zeiten und Volker.Munchen: K.G. Saur, 1992. AAA Ref. N 40.A63 1992
Revised and expanded edition of Thieme/Becker and Vollmer (below). New volumes
are coming out at a rate of about four per year (based on what has been
completed, we might surmise that the completed set, at approximately more than 200 volumes will be available sometime around 2030). The 500,000 names included in the Allgemeines Kunstler-lexikon Bio-bibliographischer Index (above) are the names that were planned for the final edition as of 1999, since then more names have been added. In German.
- Theme, Ulrich and Felix Becker. Algemeines Lexikon der Bildenden Kunstler von der Antike bis zur Gegenwart. 37 volumes. Leipzig: Engelmann/Seemann, 1907-50. AAA Ref N40 .T4
Referred to as "Thieme/Becker," this, along with its cousins Vollmer and Saur, is by far the most comprehensive dictionary for biographical entries on artists. Published between 1907 and 1950, Theme Becker includes artists through 1900. Entries include basc biographical facts, articles which cover the major events and influences in an artist's life, bibliographies which may be more substantial than in Benezit, and collections in which the artist is represented. In German.
- Vollmer, Hans. Allgemeines Lexikon der Bildenden Kunstler des XX. Jahrhunderts. 6 volumes. Leipzig: Seemann, 1953-62. AAA Ref. N 40.V6
Supplement to Thieme/Becker. Completed in 1962, it covers artists from the 1900 to 1950. In German.
-
Benezit, E. Dictionnaire critique et documentaire des peintres, sculpteurs, dessinateurs et graveurs. 14 volumes. Paris: Librairie Grund, 1976. AAA Ref. N 40.B47 1976
A very important source, usually referred to as "Benezit." Contains
almost 300,000 entries from the 5th century BC to mid-20th century.
Entries are generally brief, containing biographical facts and sometimes
a very short bibliography, a list of museum collections, and prices
obtained for works sold in public sales. For very well known artists a
longer, signed article and examples of the artist's signiture are
included. In French.
- Bryan's Dictionary of Painters and Engravers. 5 volumes. London: Bell, 1930. AAA Ref. N 40.B94 1926
Formerly considered the major universal dictionary of artists in
English, Bryan's is very limited when compared to Benezit or
Thieme/Becker. Most recently updated in 1903-05. See The Grove Dictionary of Art for
a more up-to-date resource.
- The Grove Dictionary of Art Online: Biography Search
The Grove Dictionary of Art is an encyclopedia of art containing over 45,000 entries on all topics related to art. Included are many biographical articles about artists from all periods and all areas of the world. This page allows you to search biographical entries. See the Grove Dictonary of Art below under "Encyclopedias" for more information.
Specialized Biographical Sources
Remember to always look at the other books on the shelf around any one of the resources listed below. This list highlights just a small percentage of the biographical resources in our collection. You may discover other treasures by browsing the shelves around these volumes!
Architecture
- Contemporary Architects. 3rd ed. Chicago: St. James Press, 1994. AAA Ref. NA 680.C625 1994
An excellent resource for influential architects of the late 20th century.
Entries include a signed article, list of works and a bibliography
split into works by the architect as well as those about the architect.
- Macmillan Encyclopedia of Architects. 4 volumes. New York: Free Press, 1982. AAA Ref. NA 40.M25 1982
A comprehensive historical source for architects' biographies. Volume 4 has an invaluable building index.
Art Historians
Historic Periods
- Gealt, Adelheid M. Painting of the Golden Age: A Biographical Dictionary of Seventeenth-Century European Painters.Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1993. AAA Ref. ND 456.G43 19
The "first single volume available in English summarizing the
careers of most of the major painters who were active in Europe during
the seventeenth century...". The biographical sketches mention major
artworks. Additional works with dates and holding museum and
bibliographies for each artist are listed at the end of the entry.
- Contemporary Artists
- Naylor, Colin and Genesis P-Orridge, eds. Contemporary Artists. London : St James Press, 1977. AAA Ref N6490.C6567
- Emanuel, Muriel, et al., eds. Contemporary Artists. 2nd ed. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1983. AAA Ref. N6490.C6567 1983
- Naylor Colin, ed. Contemporary Artists. 3rd ed. Chicago and London: St. James Press, 1989. AAA Ref. N6490.C6567 1989
- Cerrito, Joann, ed. Contemporary Artists. 4th ed. Detroit: St. James Press, 1996. AAA Ref. N6490.C6567 1996
Includes currently active painters and sculptors of major renown.
Entries include a biographical sketch, a signed critical essay, lists
of one-person and group shows, collections and a bibliography that
includes publications both by and about the artist. The latest edition
includes some statements by the artists.
- Waters, Clara Erskine Clement. Artists of the Nineteenth Century and Their Works. A handbook containing two thousand and fifty biographical sketches. Boston : Houghton, Mifflin and Company, 1907. AAA Ref. N 40.W5
Short biographical sketches of 19th century artists, including
many obscure artists. There is a concentration on artists from the
middle and later part of the century, though the most modern of 19th
century artists are not included. Some entries include quotes and
partial citations.
Naive or Outsider Art
- Bihalji-Merin, Oto, and Tomasevic Nebojsa-Bato. World Encyclopedia of Naive Art : A Hundred Years of Naive Art. London: F. Muller, 1984. AAA Ref N7432.5 .P7B54 1984
- Meyer, George. Folk Artist's Biographical Index. Detroit: Gale Research, 1987. AAA Ref. NK 805.F63 1987
Contains information about American folk, self-taught and outsider
artists from the 18th century to the present who may not be grouped
together in any other single reference source. Entries give citations
to a bibliography of over 100 sources and on occasion list museum
collections.
Nationalities
- AskART: The Artists Bluebook
This resource is more than just a biographical resource,
but the biographical information on over 27,000 American artists is AskART's strength. Entries may include
biographical sketches, bibliographies, auction records, exhibits, museum
collections and images. It should be noted that information for the
biographical sketches is provided by users of AskART. Articles are unsigned. All information should be verified as
you develop your project.
- Bellier de la Chavignerie, Emile and Louis Auvray. Dictionnaire General des Artistes de l'Ecole Francaise: Depuis l'origine des arts du dessin jusqu'a nos jours. 5 volumes. Reprint of 1882-1887 edition. New York: Garland, 1979. AAA Ref. N 6852.B4 1979
Very important source for French artists up to late 19th century.
- Buckman, David. Dictionary of Artists in Britain Since 1945. Bristol, England : Art Dictionaries Ltd., 1998. AAA Ref. N 6768.B83 1998
A comprehensive dictionary of artists working in the United
Kingdom since 1945. Entries are brief and there are no bibliographic
citations, but it is a good resource for finding basic information
about relatively obscure artists.
- Congdon, Kristin and Kara Kelley Hallmark. Artists from Latin American Culture: a biographical dictionary. Westport, CT : Greenwood Press, 2002.AAA Reb N6502 .C657 2002
- De Maere, J. and M. Wabbes. Illustrated Dictionary of 17th Century Flemish Painters. 3 vols. Brussels : Renaissance du Livre, 1994.AAA Ref. ND 669.F5M34 1994
Each entry includes a short biography. Also provides facsimiles of the artist's signatures and monograms.
- Falk, Peter Hastings. Who Was Who in American Art. 3 vols. Madison, CT : sound View Press, 1999.AAA Ref. N 6536.W56 1999
The dramatically expanded new edition has jumped from one volume
to three. A good place to begin looking for information on lesser-known
American artists.
- Frick Art Reference Library. Spanish Artists from the Fourth to the Twentieth Century: A Critical Dictionary. 4 volumes. New York: G.K. Hall, 1993-1996.AAA Ref. N 7112.S67 1993
-
Graves, Algernon. A dictionary of artists who have exhibited works in the principal London exhibitions from 1760 to 1893. 3rd ed. New York : B. Franklin, 1970. AAA Ref N5053 .G75 1970
The title says it all. Contains over 16,000 artists from a range
of media. Information is brief, including name, town, dates of first
and last exhibits and exhibitions.
-
Harambourg, Lydia. Dictionnaire des Peintres Paysagistes Francais au XIXe Siecle. Neuchatel: Ides et Calendes, 1985. AAA Ref. ND 1349.5.H37 1985
A good source for finding information on lesser known 19th century French painters.In French.
- Johnson, Jane. The Dictionary of British Artists, 1880-1940.
Suffolk, England: Antique Collectors' Club, c.1976. AAA Ref N6767 .J63.
See also Buckman, above.
- Pittura in Italia
- La Pittura in Italia: l'Altomedioevo. Milano : Electa, c.1994 AAA Ref ND613.P52 1994
- La Pittura in Italia: Il Duecento e il Trecento. 2 v. Milano : Electa, 1986. AAA Ref ND613 .P53 1986
- La Pittura in Italia : Il Quattrocento. 2 v. Milano : Electa, 1987. AAA Ref ND615 .P54 1987
- La Pittura in Italia : Il Cinquecento. 2 v. Milano ; Electa, 1988. AAA Ref ND615 .P55 1988
- La Pittura in Italia : Il Seicento. 2 v. Milano : Electa, 1989. AAA Ref ND616 .P56 1989
- La Pittura in Italia : Il Settecento. 2 v. Milano : Electa, 1990. AAA Ref ND616 .P57 1990
- La Pittura in Italia: l'Ottocento. 2 v. Milano : Electa, 1991. AAA Ref ND617 .P528 1991
- La Pittura in Italia : Il Novecento. 3 v. Milano : Electa, c.1991- c.1994. AAA Ref ND618.P496 1991
In addition to substantial, well illustrated textual sections La Pittura in Italia includes a biographical dictionary with each historical part. In Italian.
- Roberts, Laurance P. A Dictionary of Japanese Artists: Painting, Sculpture, Ceramics, Prints and Lacquer. New York: Weatherhill, 1990. AAA Ref. N 7358.R6 1990
Short sketches of Japanese artists throughout history.
- Seymour, Nancy N. An Index - Dictionary of Chinese Artists, Collectors, and Connoisseurs : with character identification by modified stroke count. Metuchen, NJ : The Scarecrow Press, 1988 AAA Ref. N 7348.S48 1988
More than 5,000 biographical entries ranging from the T'ang
dynasty to the modern era. Includes character identification with each
entry. Appendices include an index of alternate artist's names.
- Shipp, Steve. Latin American and Caribbean Artists of the Modern Era: a biographical dictionary of more than 12,700 persons. Jefferson, NC : McFarland and Co., 2003. AAA Ref N6502.4 .S45 2003
- Tazawa, Yutaka. Biographical Dictionary of Japanese Art. Tokyo
; New York : Kodansha International Ltd. in collaboration with the
International Society for Educational Information, 1981. AAA Ref. N
7350.B448
Fewer entries, but sketches go into greater depth than Roberts,
above. Appendices include lineage charts of various artist's schools
and maps of the old provinces and the modern prefectures.
- Verma, Som Prakash. Mughal Painters and their Works: A Biographical Survey and Comprehensive Catalogue. Delhi: Oxford University Press, 1994. AAA Ref. ND 1002.V36 1994
- Who's Who in American Art. 24rd ed. New York: Bowker, 2001/2002. AAA Ref. N 6536.W5
Includes artists, curators, historians and critics. People
included in Who's Who are always living people, and a new edition comes
out biannually.
- de Wilde, Elaine and Philippe Roberts-Jones. Le Dictionnaire des Peintres Belges: du XIVe siecle a nous jours. 3 vols. Bruxelles: Renaissance du Livre, 1995. AAA Ref. ND 672.D53 1995
Entries for artists active from the 1300's to the present in the regions that comprise modern Belgium. In French.
- Wurzbach, Alfred von. Niederlandisches Kunstler-Lexikon, auf Grund archivalischer Forschungen. 3 volumes in 2. Reprint ed. Amsterdam: Israel, 1963. AAA Ref. N 6952.W9 1963
The standard biographical dictionary for Dutch and Flemish artists. In German.
Northwest Artists
- Allen, Ginny and Jody Klevit. Oregon Painters: the first hundred years (1859--1959). Portland, OR: Oregon Historical Society Press, 1999. AAA Ref N6530 .O7 A55 1999
This is the primary reference source for Oregon artists.
Unfortunately it includes only painters and covers only the years
between 1859 (the year of statehood) and 1959. Entries include factual
information about an artist's education, memberships in art related
groups, awards, exhibits, and artistic media. Citations to the
reference works that provided the data are included as well as a brief
article.
-
Appleton, Marion Brymner. Who's Who in Northwest Art: a
Biographical Directory of Persons in the Pacific Northwest Working in
the Media of Painting, Sculpture, Graphic Arts, Illustration, Design,
and the Handicrafts. Seattle: F. McCaffrey, 1941. AAA Ref N6528.W5
This slim volume provides an interesting historical snapshot of
who was who in the Pacific Northwest on the brink of World War II. A
number of well known from the Oregon artistic tradition are included.
-
Rasmussen, Louise. Art and Artists in Oregon, 1500-1900. Eugene, OR: University of Oregon, 1940. AAA Ref N6530 .O7 R37 1940a
This typewritten manuscript provides citations and descriptions of
reproductions of artworks found in historical publications.
Photography
- Browne, Turner and Elaine Parnow. Macmillan Biographical Encyclopedia of Photographic Artists and Innovators. New York: Macmillan, 1983. AAA Ref. TR 139.B767 1983
Includes photographers, photojournalists, inventors, chemists and photography historians. Illustrated.
-
McDarrah, Gloria and Fred McDarrah. The Photography Encyclopedia. New York: Schirmer, 1999. AAA Ref. TR 9.M39 1999
Contains concise biographies and many good quality images. Over
600 biographical entries for photographers from 1839 to the present.
- Naylor, Colin, ed. Contemporary Photographers. 3rd ed. New York : St. James Press, 1995. AAA Ref TR139 .C664 1995
Contemporary in a broad sense, as some 19th- and 20th-century
artists are included. Quality and content of biographical entries
consistent with other St. James titles such as Contemporary Artists.
-
Willis-Thomas, Deborah. An Illustrated Bio-Bibliography of Black Photographers 1940-1988. New York: Garland, 1989. AAA Ref. TR 139.W55 1989
Includes entries for some photographers not included in other sources. Richly illustrated.
Race and Gender
- Notable Black American Artists
AskART offers this list of over 100 well known African American
artists as a sub-catagory in their massive database of artists. A short
article about African American artists is also available.
-
Cederholm, Theresa Dickason. Afro-American Artists: a Bio-bibliographical directory. Boston: Trustees of the Boston Public Library, 1973. AAA Ref N6538 .N5 C42
Unfortunately this resource is sadly out of date. Entries contain
factual information and extensive bibliographies, but no articles.
-
Directory of People of Color in the Visual Arts. New York: College Art Association, 1993. AAA Ref N6537.5 .D57 1993
Rather than a biographical resource, this is a directory-- meaning
it contains telephone numbers and addresses rather than lists of
achievements. The directory is based on a survey conducted in 1989
using pan-ethnic and racial categories to identify artists, art
historians, art critics and arts administrators who are people of
color.
-
Gaze, Delia. Dictionary of Women Artists. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1997. AAA Ref. N 8354.D53 1997
Provides biographical and bibliographical information on women
artists working in the Western tradition from the Middle Ages through
the mid-20th century. Includes 20 introductory surveys on topics
ranging from amateur artists to training and professionalism.
-
Heller, Jules. North American Women Artists of the Twentieth Century: A Biographical Dictionary. New York: Garland Press, 1995. AAA Ref. N 6503.N67 1995
Offers biographical and bibliographic information on women artists
from Canada, Mexico, and the U.S. Covers artists born before 1960.
-
Henkes, Robert. Latin American Women Artists of the United States: the Works of 33 Twentieth-century Women. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, c1999. AAA Ref N6538.H58 H46 1999
-
Hillstrom, Laurie Collier and Kevin Hillstrom, eds. Contemporary Women Artists. Detroit: St. James Press, c.1999. AAA Ref N8354 .C66 1999
- Lester, Patrick D. the Biographical Directory of Native American Painters. Tulsa, OK: Sir Publications, 1995. AAA Ref E54.5 .L47 1995
An excellent resource for Native Amercian painters of all periods.
Lists tribe and provides other factual information as available.
Alternate spellings or forms of artists' names are cross referenced.
- Matuz, Roger. St. James Guide to Native North American Artists. Detroit: St. James Press, 1998. AAA Ref E98 .A7 S8 1998
Like other St. James biographical works, this reference source
includes biographical data, both individual and group exhibitions,
publications by and about the artists, and signed articles. Some
entries include a black and white image. Tribal affiliation also
listed.
-
Petteys, Chris. Dictionary of Women Artists: An Inter>national Dictionary of Women Artists Born Before 1900. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1985. AAA Ref. N 43.P47 1985
Brief information, but especially useful for lesser-known artists.
-
Riggs, Thomas. St. James Guide to Black Artists. Detroit : St. James Press, c1997 AAA Ref. N 40.S78 1997
Offers biographic and bibliographic on black artists from around
the world. This resource is very up to date, but does have some notable
absences.
-
Willis-Thomas, Deborah. An Illustrated Bio-Bibliography of Black Photographers 1940-1988. New York: Garland, 1989. AAA Ref. TR 139.W55 1989
Includes entries for some photographers not included in other sources. Richly illustrated.
-
Zheng, Sheng Tian and Charles Liu. Artists of Chinese Origin in North America Directory.Tiapei: Artist Magazine; Westmont, IL: Point Gallery, 1993. AAA Ref N6538 .C48 A78 1993
Sculpture
- Beaulieu, M. and V. Beyer. Dictionnaire des Sculpteurs Francais du Moyen Age. Paris: Picard, 1992. AAA Ref. NB 543.B43 1992
Organized by region. Includes maps. In French.
-
Gunnis, Rupert. Dictionary of British Sculptors, 1660 - 1851. London: [Murrays Book Sales], 1968. AAA Ref. NB 496.G85 1968
Very comprehensive dictionary of British sculptors from this period. Many illustrations.
-
Opitz, Glenn B. Dictionary of American Sculptors: 18th Century to the Present. Poughkeepsie: Apollo, 1984. AAA Ref. NB 236.U64 1984
Very brief entries include the last known address and a separate section of black and white illustrations.
-
Souchal, François. French Sculptors of the 17th and 18th centuries : the reign of Louis XIV, illustrated catalogue. Oxford: Cassirer ; London : distributed by Faber, 1977- AAA Ref. NB 546.S6813